association of massage therapists

Registered Training Organisations

National Competency Standards were introduced for Massage Therapy in 2002 as part of the Health Training Package. Nationally recognised training for Massage Therapists is currently delivered exclusively through the VET (Vocational Education and Training) sector in government (TAFE) and private colleges, called Registered Training Organisations (RTOs).

The current nationally recognised qualifications for Massage Therapists are the HLT42015 Certificate IV in Massage Therapy Practice and the HLT52015 Diploma of Remedial Massage. AMT's membership recognition criteria is based on these current qualifications and their previous iterations.

There is currently around 100 RTOs offering these nationally recognised qualifications in massage. To check the registration status of an RTO, please visit

AMT does not recognise or accredit or enter into partnerships with RTOs. The Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA) is the body responsible for regulating and monitoring the activities of RTOs.